Enervation and criticals? | EN World Tabletop RPG News & Reviews

Posted by Tobi Tarwater on Sunday, August 25, 2024

Chronosome said:

Meeza dumb. All that's wrong. See below posts.


Well, now, don't be too hasty :)

You see, pre-Tome and Blood, this wasn't spelled out. While it states under the description of Energy Drain that energy drain special attacks inflict double negative levels on a critical, that passage doesn't apply to spells; and if you'd taken a poll pre-T&B as to how many DMs thought you could deal Sneak Attack damage along with Enervation, I'd guess most would have said "No".

Tome and Blood also changed - not clarified, but changed - the rules for Sharing Spells with a familiar, for example.

So a 3.5 DM might quite fairly say "Tome and Blood rules don't apply to 3.5, and you can only crit with a spell that deals hit point damage."

-Hyp.

ncG1vNJzZmivp6x7prrWqKmlnF6kv6h706GpnpmUqHymusSrrZqsmaS7bq3NnWScqpmptqSty6xlcG5gbn9w